Skip to main content
Thumbnail for The secret dead

The secret dead

Parris, S. J., 1974-2014
Books
This is a short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher, and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. Even the dead have a story to tell. Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order - despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions. Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death. His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried - and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family.
Main title:
The secret dead / S.J. Parris.
Imprint:
London : Harper, 2014.
Collation:
57 pages ; 20 cm
ISBN:
9780008102098 (pbk)
Language:
English
BRN:
1622363
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list